Located south of the Canterbury Town Green on S. Canterbury Road, this late Georgian style house showcases the style in a more rural setting with a comfortable distance from the street. The home is estimated to have been built by about 1790 and largely added to and updated in 1801 when purchased by Captain John Clark, an Englishman and former shipbuilder who shifted his skill from ships to houses. Clark is also believed to be the builder of the Prudence Crandall House just up the road, completed a couple years later.
The two-story hipped roof home features a prominent balustrade at the roof ridge, twin chimneys, a central triangular pediment with flanking pilasters and a Palladian window at the second floor. The elaborate architectural treatment of the central bay and entrance is synonymous with the “Canterbury” style of Georgian architecture in the region.