The American Unitarian Association (AUA) opened its first headquarters in Boston in 1865, forty years after the AUA was founded. The rapidly growing church group occupied a few sites before settling in its recently completed new building at the corner of Beacon and Bowdoin Streets in 1886. The gorgeous Romanesque building was designed by Peabody & Stearns and constructed of brownstone. The handsome building featured prominent arches and carvings, typical of the architectural style; however had Italian Gothic windows on the third floor which a unique feature. The building was utilized for conferences and events of the American Unitarian Association until 1925 when the group (who already occupied an annex building across the street due to overcrowding) decided to sell the buildings and relocate to 25 Beacon Street. The building was acquired by the Hotel Bellevue who demolished the Romanesque structure and had the architectural firm of Putnam & Cox design a large addition to their building which remains today.