
The Marion Railroad Station was built in about 1855, around the time of the arrival of the first passenger rail service to Marion, Massachusetts, a new town which incorporated just three years prior. While no train service runs through the town today, historically, the community was well-connected to Boston, Cape Cod, and towns all over the South Coast of Massachusetts. The Fairhaven Branch Railroad was incorporated in 1849, chartered in 1851, and built from 1852 to 1854 to connect Fairhaven with West Wareham and lines beyond in Cape Cod and Boston. This station was built by the time the line opened and it stands as a larger, two-story Victorian station which serviced the area’s passenger and freight travel here. The New Bedford and Taunton Railroad bought the line in 1861, which too merged into the Old Colony Railroad in 1883. As use of rail travel declined, passenger service ended in Marion by 1935, followed by freight service in 1953.The former station was sold to private owners and since 1988, has housed a childcare center. Despite the second story addition and later renovations, the building still retains its unique character and bargeboard detailing.