
Since its founding in 1863, Marion’s Masonic organization, Pythagorean Lodge, has been one of the town’s most important social and charitable organizations. The organization originally met in a historic Greek Revival style building near the harbor, but it was eventually deemed obsolete for the well-connected group of men who were members there. In 1908, discussions began to build a new, purpose-built Masonic Hall in the village. It was intended to have a three-story building with retail space and apartments on the ground floor to supplement the cost of maintenance, reception and member’s rooms on the second floor, and the banquet hall and kitchen on the top floor. Approximately one-third of the cost for the new building was funded by Henry E. Converse, of the Converse Rubber Company (now the iconic shoe brand), who was a member of the local lodge and summer resident of Marion. Opened in 1911, the new building was designed in the Colonial Revival style with fanlight windows, corner pilasters, and columned entrance, but today lacks the original flair with its unfortunate vinyl siding.