Brookline Arts Center – Former Fire Station // 1886

The Longwood area of Brookline, Massachusetts, is among my favorite neighborhoods to stroll and admire great old buildings. The area is home to many grand houses, churches and later high-style apartment buildings but this diminutive building is often overlooked at the edge of the neighborhood! The structure was erected in 1886 by the Town of Brookline as a new Chemical Engine House. The locally renowned architectural partnership of Peabody and Stearns designed the Shingle style fire station for the town, an important hire as the surrounding neighborhood was dominated by stately old homes in a suburban setting. Eventually, in 1965, the firehouse was closed and in 1968, the Brookline Arts Center renovated the building, where their programs have been continuously based in the years since. The brick and shingle building is maintained by the non-profit, preserving a significant piece of the town’s history for the public to enjoy!

Darius Knight House // c.1830

Another of the stunning early 19th century homes in the charming town of Chaplin, Connecticut is this transitional Federal/Greek Revival home built around 1830. The house appears to have been built for Darius Knight (1792-1882), a Deacon at the nearby Congregational Church. Of an interesting note, the Knight House is located across the street from the E. W. Day House, thus the intersection was colloquially known as the Knight and Day Corner. The house’s gable-end form with gable reading like a pediment supported by corner pilasters are all clearly Greek Revival style, but the fan lights in said gable and as a transom window are holdouts of the tried-and-true Federal style which dominated up until that point. What a great house!

Old Chaplin Public Library // 1911

In his will, lifelong Chaplin, Connecticut resident William Ross (1833-1908) bequeathed his hometown funds to erect its first purpose-built public library. As planning began, his widow, Emily Jones Ross donated even more to fund a building fitting of her late husband. The Queen Anne/Romanesque Revival style library is built of pressed brick with granite trim and features a prominent rounded corner bay of cedar shingles. The masonry work was done by George E. Snow but I could not locate the architect. The town outgrew the library and moved it into a new building nearby, selling the William Ross Public Library to a private owner, who appears to be renovating it now.

Chaplin Congregational Church // c.1815

Years before the small town of Chaplin, Connecticut was incorporated as a town, early residents here had this Congregational church built at the future town’s center. The following decades would see the village develop into a cohesive street of Federal and Greek Revival style dwellings and shops, many of which remain to this day. The church was technically completed by 1815, but it would be decades until funding was acquired to add the steeple, pews, and other finishings for the edifice. The structure sits on a raised stone foundation and is prominently sited on the town’s main street.

Orin Witter House // 1821

The Witter House of Chaplin, Connecticut was built in 1821 and owned by three generations of medical doctors all named Orin Witter. The Witter House stands on Chaplin Street and is among the finest Federal style residences in this part of the state. Orin Witter had the house built just before the town was incorporated in 1822 and would also serve as the town’s first Clerk. The Witter House is five bays wide, with paired chimneys at the ends of the hip roof. The centered entrance is flanked by arched sidelight windows and has a fanlight above. The fanlight detail is echoed by semi-elliptical fan louvers above each window. The roof has a monitor section at its center. Due to its architectural merit and state of preservation, the house was individually listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

Lincoln-Chrysler House // c.1830

This charming brick Federal house sits on the main street in the quaint village of Chaplin, Connecticut. Due to its style, the house likely dates to 1830 as a late-Federal home as the village was seeing development. The original owner is not known, but the property was later occupied by Mason Lincoln in the mid-late 19th century. By the early 20th century, the property was owned by members of the Chrysler family, first by Mintin Asbury Chrysler (1871-1963), a botanist, mycologists and paleobotanist. The house was later inherited by Mintin’s son, Sidney Chrysler, who was a known puppeteer who converted some spaces in the property for puppet shows until his death in 1999.

Gurley Tavern // 1822

Chaplin, Connecticut was incorporated in 1822 and in that same year, this stately Federal style residence was built and operated as a tavern by Chauncey and Julia Gurley. The house in the late 19th century was used as a private school and residence and was later owned by Ruth E. Snow Bowden (1895-1983) known lovingly as “The Quilt Lady”. Ruth was one of the foremost quilt-makers in Connecticut and her Chaplin home, as a result, became known as The Quilt Shop. By the late 1900s, the tavern was converted to an inn, but closed years later from few bookings. The new owners have restored and maintained this charming old tavern back to its original appearance.

Goodell Store & Chaplin Post Office // 1828

In 1828, Isaac Goodell (1770-1856), a merchant and farmer in Chaplin, Connecticut built this small shop just down the road from his house to sell his goods and serve as the village’s post office. Like his own home, the shop was designed in the Federal style with a symmetrical facade and fanlights as a transom and in the gable end. The building eventually was converted to a residence and appears to still be a home today, with one of the windows boarded up (hopefully in the process of restoration).

Goodell-Bill House // 1828

One of the finest houses in the small town of Chaplin, Connecticut is this Federal manse, located right on the edge of the town center. The brick residence was built in 1828 by Isaac Goodell (1770-1856) who raised his family in the stately home. After Goodell’s death, the property was inherited by his daughter, Mary and her husband, Lester Bill. The house stands out for its painted brick walls, symmetrical facade with fanlight and sidelights at the entry, and the large Palladian window on the second floor.

Edwin Eaton House // c.1835

Edwin Eaton (1803-1873) was a lumber dealer and master carpenter in Chaplin, Connecticut when he built this home at the edge of the village center. Eaton built this large residence around 1835, after his marriage to Caroline Gaylord in 1831. It is said that he built more than half the houses in Chaplin Center, several meeting houses in other towns, and for a time, sold the timber for the Spragues’ when they were building industrial villages in nearby towns. The Eaton House is presently (2024) being renovated, hopefully the original high-quality woodworking is restored!