Tabor Academy Building – Marion Town Hall // 1876

This building, one of the most architecturally significant in the town of Marion, Massachusetts, was constructed in 1876 as a new academy building in the community. When built, Marion was not yet a summer resort community and suffered the decline of the shipbuilding and sea-faring trades that saw the region prosper throughout much of the first half of the 19th century. The new academy building was largely funded by Marion resident, Elizabeth Sprague Pitcher Tabor (1791- 1888). Following the death of her wealthy husband, New Bedford clockmaker and whaling vessel shareholder Stephen Taber, Mrs. Taber focused her attention on improving the circumstances of her hometown of Marion by financing and overseeing construction of new buildings in town. In her later years, Elizabeth founded Tabor Academy in Marion, naming it after Mount Tabor in Palestine rather than after herself (but the close spelling was likely intentional). Tabor Academy served as a private school for boys and girls over 12 years of age, and was to remain free for local students. With the rise of public schools in the state, many academies began to struggle with admitting students, especially those that had parents willing to pay additional money for enrollment. The school struggled around the Great Depression and thus, traded buildings with the Town of Marion in the 1930s and this building became the Marion Town Hall, a use it retains to this day. The building itself is a stunning Italianate design, likely constructed from plans by Boston architect and summer resident in Marion, William Gibbons Preston. The Town of Marion has done an exceptional job maintaining and preserving this significant and iconic piece of architecture and local history into the 21st century.

Forest Hills Cemetery – Chadwick Mausoleum // 1873

While many monuments in the Forest Hills Cemetery in Boston stand out for obvious reasons, there are many historic mausoleums dispersed throughout the cemetery, but none quite like the Chadwick Mausoleum. Mausoleums are above ground burial structures, where family can be interred together within the walls of the structure, that provides an interior space for family to mourn inside. Many mausoleums were designed by noted architects and are often outfitted with decorative bronze doors or stained-glass windows. The most visible and ornate at Forest Hills is the Chadwick Mausoleum, located at the west end of Lake Hibiscus. The structure was designed in the Gothic Revival style by William Gibbons Preston who designed the bridge over Greenwood Avenue. Nestled into the sloped hill in the rear, the stone mausoleum features a metal door bearing the name “Chadwick.” The structure was funded by Joseph Houghton Chadwick (1827-1902), following the death of his wife in 1872. Joseph was President of the Chadwick Lead Works in Downtown Boston and was a successful businessman, as a trustee of Boston University also serving as president and as a trustee of Forest Hills Cemetery where he was later interred. 

Forest Hills Cemetery – Stone Bridge // 1891

Forest Hills Cemetery in Boston was established in 1848 in the rural cemetery tradition, which followed Mount Auburn Cemetery, established in 1831 in nearby Cambridge and Watertown. The site was a municipal cemetery in Roxbury until it was annexed into Boston in 1868, becoming a private, non-denominational burial place for the who’s who of the area. The cemetery was envisioned by Henry A. S. Dearborn, who was the mayor of Roxbury in 1847 and first president of the Massachusetts Horticulture Society, who had also been instrumental in creating Mount Auburn. Since its creation in 1848, Forest Hills has grown from its original 72 acres to a total of approximately 250 acres today and is known for the rich topography and vegetation, dotted by thousands of beautiful monuments to the deceased and some iconic architectural landmarks tucked away in its winding paths. Forest Hills Cemetery was located on this site due to its varied natural features, which included hills, valleys and lakes, which together were preserved to enhance the experience of those visiting nearly 200 years later. The site’s topography consists of a series of geological drumlins of Roxbury puddingstone, an important material that was used in building projects all over the region (and for some of the buildings and monuments in Forest Hills). It is the burial place of a remarkable cross-section of people that reflect almost every aspect of American life — from statesmen to soldiers to industrialists to abolitionists to artists to poets. Forest Hills Cemetery is a somewhat hidden gem and is one of the best places in the area to walk and explore. 

The stone bridge in Forest Hills spans over Greenwood Avenue, linking Consecration Hill to Milton Hill, was designed by William Gibbons Preston and built in 1891-1892. It is 180’ long and 23’ wide and was constructed of random laid Roxbury puddingstone with granite trim and is capped by a stone balustrade inlaid with decorative cast iron. The bridge shows that even a traditionally functional structure in the cemetery was designed with intent and was a vessel to enhance the experience of those visiting. Stay tuned for more sites in this iconic landscape!

Lyman School for Boys – Manual Arts Building and Powerplant // c.1900

The former Lyman School for Boys was established in Westborough as the Massachusetts State Reform School in 1847, the first state-operated reform school in the country. Initially located on the eastern shore of Lake Chauncy and dominated by a single massive building, but its early history was plagued by conflict between inmates and administration. In 1885, legislative action authorized the Trustees to purchase and prepare a new site, the first in the state system to be developed on the dispersed cottage plan, the school thrived throughout the 19th century and into the 20th century until its eventual closure in about 1974. Much of the campus was designed by architect, William G. Preston, likely including this industrial building, which was used as a Manual Arts training building. Here, young men would learn trades, where upon graduation, they would be able to enter the workforce. The building appears to have been extended decades later with the addition of a powerplant wing, in a more Arts and Crafts style. The handsome building has been vacant for over 50 years and is literally a shell of its former self. With much of the old Lyman School campus razed for uninspiring replacement buildings, it would be a shame to see this building not restored and adaptively reused.