Callender-Sedgwick House // 1802

Built in 1802, this large residence at 14 Walnut Street is among the oldest extant mansions on the South Slope of Beacon Hill and includes a large hidden garden behind a granite block retaining wall. John Callender, Clerk of the Supreme Judicial Court of the Commonwealth, purchased land at the corner of Mount Vemon and Walnut streets for $2,000 and immediately started construction on his requested “small house finished for little money $5,000-$7,000”, but this was anything but modest. The house originally had its primary facade facing Mount Vernon Street, but in 1821, Walnut Street was lowered by city officials, so Callender had the granite retaining wall built for the garden and new entry built on Walnut Street. Mr. Callender lived here until his death in 1833 and the property was purchased by members of the Lyman family and later by Harriot Curtis (1881-1974) an early amateur female skier and golfer who used her fortune as a philanthropist, funding medical facilities in Boston for impoverished immigrants and served as dean of women in Hampton Institute in Virginia, an HBCU from 1927-1931. The most significant owner, Ellery Sedgwick (1872-1960), lived here from 1908 until his death in 1960. Sedgwick worked as editor of the Atlantic Monthly (now known as The Atlantic), and under his ownership, the magazine became one of the most circulated magazines in the world. The Callender-Sedgwick House features unique flushboard siding, providing a seamless surface that resembles a masonry wall when painted earth tones and a 19th century oriel window. The brick end elevation is punctuated with bays of hung windows and the recessed entry with a long, granite garden wall which has been well-preserved by owners.


Lyman-Paine Mansion // 1824

The Lyman-Paine Mansion at the corner of Joy and Mount Vernon streets in Boston’s Beacon Hill neighborhood is an architecturally significant Federal style house designed by a skilled architect and was owned by members of prominent local families. This four-story mansion was designed in 1824 by architect Alexander Parris for George Williams Lyman (1786-1880), a shipping merchant who became one of the Boston Associates, a group of wealthy Bostonians who funded the expansion of New England textile mills, which helped grow many industrial communities all over the region in the 19th century. This house served as Lyman’s winter estate, his summer mansion was the the Lyman Estate, “The Vale”, in Waltham, which he had inherited from his father. Upon George Lyman’s death in 1880, Lydia Lyman Paine, George’s youngest daughter, inherited this Beacon Hill mansion. Lydia’s husband, Robert Treat Paine, was a graduate of Harvard and a successful local attorney. Mr. Paine retired from law in 1872 to become the treasurer for the new Trinity Church building committee, where he averted a fiscal crisis during the mid-1870s when Henry Hobson Richardson’s cost overruns in designing the new Copley Square church threatened its completion. In addition to his pro bono work with Trinity’s finances, Paine was deeply interested in improving the quality of life of the working class, founding building and loan associations and institutes to allow immigrants to buy homes in the Boston area. In addition to their Joy Street mansion, the Paines had a country estate called Stonehurst, which is adjacent to the Vale in Waltham; it was renovated by Richardson. The mansion was converted to apartments (now condos) in the mid-20th century, and maintains its unique, vernacular Federal character, with asymmetrical facade and oddly placed and shaped windows.

Mitchell-Pratt House // 1820

This architecturally unique and stunning Federal­ style house in Chester, Connecticut, was built in 1820 on the Middlesex Turnpike by Abram Mitchell for $10,000, double what he originally hoped to pay for the residence. The principal builder was Samuel Silliman, a locally well-known master carver, who clearly showcased his skill inside and out, much of which has been preserved by two centuries of owners. In 1845, the property was purchased by George Spencer, and presented as a wedding gift for his daughter, Julia, who married Dr. Ambrose Pratt (1814-1891). Dr. Pratt became well-known for his practice of hydropathology and temporarily used his house as a sanitarium known as the Chester Water Cure. The house was acquired by the local Roman Catholic Church and became the parish center until the residence was purchased and moved away from the busy street to its current location in 1966. In the 1980s, the house was purchased by famed artist, Sol Lewitt. The house has a large spider web window, still containing the original glass over the door and full-height pilasters dividing bays and inside, many stunning carved mantles and woodwork.

Jonathan Warner House // 1798

The Jonathan Warner House in Chester, Connecticut, is one of the finest Federal style houses in the state and has been meticulously preserved for over two centuries. The house was built in 1798 by Jonathan Warner (1756-1828), a wealthy farmer who invested in merchant shipping ventures and also operated the nearby Chester–Hadlyme ferry transporting people across the Connecticut River for a fee. When he built his house Jonathan Warner used local workmen and timber, importing glass and paint from New York, wallpaper from Hartford, and stone and hardware were brought from Connecticut and New York. The farmhouse remained in the Warner family until 1922 when it was purchased by Malcolm Brooks, who retained all of the receipts and correspondence on the house’s construction and maintenance. Architecturally, the house stands out for its proportions and detailing, specifically at the front door with fanlight and sidelights, which are framed by fluted pilasters, pediment and dentil molding. There is a Palladian-esque window above the entry which is framed by two free standing Ionic columns on brownstone pedestals. What is your favorite detail of this house?

Ezra L’Hommedieu House // c.1835

Ezra L’Hommedieu (1772-1860) settled in Chester, Connecticut, in 1812 with his brother Joshua, and built a factory on the south branch of the Pattaconk Brook, which cut through the small village. The brothers manufactured gimlets (not the cocktail), a small wood-boring hand tool used to drill precise pilot holes for screws or nails, preventing wood from splitting and making driving fasteners easier. Ezra invented and patented the single-twist ship auger in 1812, which helped propel Chester into a prominent ship-building community. From his success, Ezra had this residence built on North Main Street in about 1835, which, like his brother’s house on Maple Street, blends Federal and Greek Revival styles elegantly.

Buck-L’Hommedieu House // c.1755

This beautiful Federal style side-hall house is located on Maple Street in Chester, Connecticut, and (at least a part of it) was built by 1755 by Isaac Buck, who deeded half of the property to his son, Justus, during his lifetime. In the early 1800s, the property was purchased by Joshua L’Hommedieu (1787-1880), a manufacturer, who had the property redeveloped or redesigned in the Federal style giving it the appearance we see today. The house has its gable end oriented to the street with an elliptical fan and dentil block detailing.

Leet-Ely House // c.1787

One of the finest homes in Chester, Connecticut, can be found on Liberty Street, a short distance to the village green. The Federal style house dates to about 1787 and was built by Gideon Leet, a Revolutionary War veteran and joiner as his own residence. After Gideon’s death, the property was purchased by Dr. Richard Ely (1765-1816), who may have expanded the residence, and worked locally as a town doctor. The property remained in the Ely familyfor generations and minimal changes have occured to the exterior as a result of this. The modillon cornice, corner quoins, and fanlight transom sheltered under a columned portico add to the charm of this great house. 

James Baldwin House // c.1785

James Baldwin (1742-1818) lived in present-day Chester, Connecticut, and upon the outbreak of the Revolution, joined the forces of Capt. Richard Douglass’ company as a private and fought for liberty. Upon the conclusion of the war, Baldwin returned to Chester and had this house built facing the village green. The transitional late-Georgian and Federal style house has a center chimney and very simple trim with an elliptical fanlight transom over the central door. The house has a wood shingle roof, typical of the early houses of the time. Pvt. Baldwin died in 1818 and his property was inherited by his daughter, Lydia Baldwin Sawyer and her husband, David Sawyer, and later in the 19th century by their eldest daughter, Lucina Morgan, and her husband, Jonathan. The home has been meticulously preserved by the later owners, important as one of the early surviving homes near the village green.

Chester Meetinghouse // 1793

The Saybrook Colony was established in 1635 and covered a large geographic area near the mouth of the Connecticut River in Connecticut.  This area was later subdivided into different towns after colonial era villages were established, each with their own church congregations. As was common in the colonial era, these divisions were centered on the establishment of separate church congregations. The Fourth Ecclesiastical Society of Saybrook in what is now the town of Chester, Connecticut, was established in 1742. As the town grew, this building was constructed in 1793 as Chester’s second meeting house and served as a church until 1846, when the third Meeting House was built. In 1847, the Town of Chester acquired this old meetinghouse and from that date until 1960, it was used as the Town Hall. In 1876, the old meetinghouse was renovated with a new, projecting main entrance added to the south side of the building when the Old Town Hall enjoyed its heyday as a theater and concert hall. The Old Town Hall witnessed many events under its roof, including hosting P.T. Barnum’s Tom Thumb, who performed here, as did musical events, high school proms, and school graduations. The building had become threatened following the construction of the new Chester Elementary School, which better-hosted events, in the 1960s. Luckily, in 1970, the newly formed Chester Historical Society acquired the building and restored it as a significant piece of the town’s rich history.

Captain Calvin Williams House // c.1820

This Federal period stone house with a later Victorian-era porch, is located on Kirtland Street in Deep River, Connecticut, an area dominated by homes built for sea captains and ship builders in the 19th century. Calvin Williams (1785-1833) married Eunice Southworth of Deep River in 1809, and in 1820, built this stately home from granite from the Southworth family quarry. Captain Williams did not get to enjoy his home much as he was often out at sea commanding shipping vessels out of New York. Likely due to failing health, in 1832, Capt. Calvin Williams retired from the sea and returned to his home on Kirtland Street before he died in August of 1833. Federal style features of the house, like the elliptical fanlight and modillons in the gable and a fanlight over the main entry remain, while later alterations after his death include the spectacular enclosed porch from the late 19th or early 20th century.