Built around 1830, this little cottage is among the many photogenic buildings found along the idyllic Main Street in Marion, Massachusetts. The structure is said to have been originally located behind the Congregational Church and moved to its current location after 1855. By 1879, the structure was converted to a residence and owned by Ms. Sarah Ryder, then the widow of John C. Ryder. The vernacular cottage is sheathed in weathered shingles, which enhances its beauty and connects it architecturally with the coastal community.
Reportedly built in 1790, this stately Federal period residence on Main Street in Marion and overlooks the sheltered harbor sharing strong connections to the sea. Known colloquially as the House of the Two Captains, this residence was built as a double house and known for its connections to sea captains, Elisha E. Luce (1786-1850) and Noble E. Bates. Captain Luce moved into this house shortly after his marriage to Jane Hiller, daughter of a local Deacon. Particularly note-worthy is the main facade’s center entrance, which exhibits unusually fine surrounds, including fluted Doric pilasters and a pediment enlivened by dentils. Inside, the house is said to have hidden passages behind a large fireplace. The captains used part of the house as a crockery and supplies store. Captain Elisha E. Luce’s best-known ship was the Persia, which made numerous profitable trade missions to the Far East. This house was also the birthplace of the Universalist Church in Marion, when during the early 1830s, Universalists met in Captain Bates’ half of the house to organize a religious society and plan the construction of the church. The Luce and Bates families co-owned this house until the mid-19th century and the residence remains one of the finest in the harbor village.
Known as the “Old Parsonage” this historic house in Marion, Massachusetts, was built in 1813 by Capt. John Pitcher (1788-1867) around the time of his marriage to Catharine Clark. John Pitcher was the brother of Elizabeth Pitcher Taber, a major benefactor of the town of Marion. The residence is unique in that the primary facade is actually facing away from the street, with the prominent three-story facade being the historic rear of the home. The Federal period house sits on a raised stone foundation with a central door and shingle siding above. Behind his home, a large pasture was grazed by sheep and cows until the land was sold off and subdivided for residential development later in the 19th century. When Capt. Pitcher died, he left his house to the Congregational Church, which used it as a parsonage for many years until 1966, when the church sold the property to Lawrence P. and Edith G. Pangaro, who co-founded the Marion Sentinel and the Sippican Publishing Company. The home was recently renovated.
A fine example of a Federal style brick-ender, the Farmer-Colson House in North Billerica is a stately and well-proportioned residence of its type in Massachusetts that has been lovingly preserved inside and out for over 200 years. The house was built in 1803 by Oliver Farmer (1760-1839) on land he acquired from his wife, Hannah’s father. The house was later inherited by Oliver and Hannah’s daughter, Rachel, and her husband Israel Colson. Israel Colson arrived in the mill village in about 1830 from Rhode Island and was a farmer by trade but became engaged in the development of the locks for the Middlesex Canal on the Concord River in the village. Architecturally, the house retains its symmetrical facade with center entrance adorned by a fanlight transom and sidelights, massive end chimneys, and an attached barn/stable.
Adjacent to the Faulkner Mill, this early 19th century house in North Billerica was built by a member of the Faulkner family, who helped make the village an industrial center in this part of Massachusetts. This house is said to have been built around 1825 and was the residence of James Faulkner (1801-1877), who co-ran the adjacent Faulkner Mill with family, manufacturing cloth goods. A late Federal style house, the Faulkner residence features a five-bay facade with center entrance and corner quoins. After the death of James Faulkner, the property was inherited by his heirs, and in 1927, was given to the children of Billerica by Anne Faulkner, for use as a kindergarten, which remains to this day.
An excellent example of a Federal style country mansion, the Dr. Bowers House sits on the edge of the Town Common in Billerica, Massachusetts, retains its original form and architectural features which set it above many other residences of its period in town. The mansion was built in 1804 for Doctor William Bowers (1744-1820) and is square in plan with five bays on each side and brick end walls. The roof features a large monitor and massive chimneys extending from the rooms below. Formal entrances are located on both street-facing elevations, with the side door likely originally serving as an entrance to the doctor’s home office.
Dating to about 1723, the Danforth-Sexton House on Concord Road in Billerica, Massachusetts, is one of the town’s finest Colonial-era homes and excellently preserved as the home to the Billerica Historical Society. The original owner, Jacob Danforth (1698-1754), was a blacksmith and lived here with his wife, Rebeckah, until his death in 1754. The property was inherited by their son, David, who would sell the house to Rev. Henry Cummings, the fourth pastor of the First Church of Billerica. A series of doctors owned the house in the early 19th century, one of whom likely added the small addition to the side of the main house, which possibly housed a small doctor’s office. The final private owners were William Sexton and his wife, Clara Sexton, who would eventually bequeath the home to the Billerica Historical Society. The house and the now attached barn operate as a house museum with collections documenting the history of the community.
This beautiful Federal style house in Billerica, Massachusetts, was built in 1811 by Joseph Locke (1772-1853), a lawyer in Billerica until 1833, when he moved to Lowell residing there until his death. He was elected eight times to serve as a member of the state legislature from Billerica and once from Lowell and is best known for being the first justice to serve for the Lowell Police Court. The house was built on the site of the 1654 Jonathan Danforth homestead. In 1885, George E. Stearns bought the house and operated it as a hotel. After some time outside of the Stearns Family, the property was purchased by Dr. Albert Warren Stearns, psychiatrist and Dean of Tufts Medical School in 1915. The home has been preserved and maintains all the hallmarks of the Federal style.
The Rufus Underhill House in Billerica, Massachusetts, is an excellent example of the eclectic nature of residential architecture seen in the United States during the Victorian period following the conclusion of the Civil War. Without a clear distinguishing style, the house stands out for its unique form, architectural details, lancet windows and side four-story tower, all with paint colors to highlight and accentuate its distinctive features. The house and accompanying stable were built around 1870 for Rufus K. Underhill (1819-1894) and his wife, Deborah, as a place to spend their retirement. Rufus Underhill was born in Chester, NH and worked as a blacksmith, later establishing the Underhill Edged Tool Co. in Nashua later expanding to sales in Boston.
The Abbott-Bowers House at on Boston Road in Billerica Center was built in 1796 and stands as a significant Federal period residence in town, though suffers from deferred maintenance. The building was constructed for James Abbott, a merchant who likely operated a store from the street-side entrance. The property was owned later by Jonathan Bowers, the first Postmaster in Billerica and his home served as the Post office for over 100 years. Many other organizations and committees have also been run out of the building. The residence is five-bays wide on all elevations and has a hipped roof with tall end chimneys and what appear to be the original windows. The building recently sold and is planned for a new commercial use, hopefully with a restoration of the exterior.
The town of Billerica was originally settled by colonists in 1640, but the area west of the Concord River was not settled until after 1690. This saltbox Colonial house built around 1696 is believed to be the oldest house in town west of the river. The residence was built by Samuel Manning (1644-1711) as his homestead. Between 1752 and 1800, the Manning family operated a tavern out of the rear portion of the house. In the later years of the 18th century by the family of William Manning, a veteran of the Revolutionary War, who after the war, began to believe that his military service meant little to the American ruling class. He wrote the anti-Federalist ‘The Key of Liberty” in 1798, arguing that the goal of the “Few” was to distress and force the “Many” into being financially dependent on them, creating a continued cycle of dependence to the elite class and government. In the late 19th century, this old saltbox Colonial house began to deteriorate, until the 1890s, when descendant of its original owner, and landscape architect, Warren H. Manning, spearheaded family efforts to restore the property. As a prominent landscape architect, Manning purchased not just the house, but the surrounding lands that formed the basis of Manning State Forest, protecting both. Manning conducted a carefully documented restoration of the house in 1899, and made it his summer home. A family association was eventually formed to take over the property, which leases the old home to a local pub and restaurant. The house faces south, away from the street and the kitchen ell off the side of the house does detract from the building, but it remains a significant early building from the settlement of Billerica.
One of the most charming cottages in Edgartown is this half-cape on South Summer Street, which retains its unique character amidst the extreme wealth and desire for expansion of summer homes on Martha’s Vineyard. This home dates to around the turn of the 19th century (possibly older) and in the 1800s, was home to John Sprague Smith (1808-1893) and his wife, Mary Norton Smith. John S. Smith, like most of the community, was a mariner and lived in the house until his death in 1893. The house was not originally on this lot, however, as it was originally built on the south side of S. Water Street and moved to its present location by later owner, Allen P. Stewart, a fisherman, woodcarver and artist who made wooden ducks. The house has since been added onto at the rear, but the diminutive and charming facade has been retained, with its early 20th century shed dormer on the front slope of the roof.
The architecturally distinguished Holmes Smith House on South Summer Street in Edgartown, Martha’s Vineyard, showcases the range in which the Greek Revival style could showcase whimsy and unique architectural details from the typical side-hall gable-end form seen all over New England. The house appears to date from the mid 1830s with its strong, symmetrical facade of flushboard siding, its three bays divided with paneled pilasters, and elaborate parapet containing a central dormer and arched fan motifs. The house was originally owned by Capt. Holmes Wass Smith (1798-1849) and his wife, Sophia (Coffin) Smith and later in the 19th and early 20th centuries by members of the Pease family. The residence is now a summer home and has been thoughtfully preserved as one of the most excellent and unique examples of its style on Martha’s Vineyard.
One of the older Colonial-era homes in Martha’s Vineyard, is this 2 1/2-story, side-gable, half-house clad in wood shingles on South Water Street in Edgartown. Deed research has not been undertaken, but a 1858 map shows the property owned by the estate of Palfrey Collins (1777-1857), who worked as a ship rigger, mariner, and day laborer on a nearby wharf, primarily on vessels preparing for whaling voyages from Edgartown. In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the property was owned by sea captain, Ira V. Schofield (1837-1918). The residence retains its Colonial charm, including the (possibly original) eight-over-twelve and twelve-over-twelve sash windows, and door surround with transom over the paneled door.