George Risley House // c.1870

This unique residence in Wayland, Massachusetts, is tucked away on Corman’s Lane, a dead-end street near Snake Brook, a small stream leading into Lake Cochituate. The house was built around 1870 for George William Risley (1836-1913), a shoe manufacturer and Civil War veteran who settled in Cochituate Village and ran a factory there. Risley was active in town affairs and served as Selectman in 1872, the year in which the annual meeting authorized the selectmen to petition the General Court for Cochituate to separate from Wayland. The petition was ultimately never was filed and Cochituate remains a part of Wayland. The Risley House has five bays and a shallow side gable roof with broad, overhanging eaves supported by brackets. A central porch runs along part of the facade and has intricate turned posts and spindlework. The home remains in great shape and is evocative of mid-late 19th century industrial housing built for factory managers.

Old Wayland High School // 1855

In 1854, at the annual Town Meeting at Wayland, residents voted to build the community’s first High School, this structure, which was completed in 1855. The roughly square building is Italianate in style with the round arched windows and bracketed cornice, but with some holdover features common in Greek Revival architecture, including the tall pilasters dividing the bays, and projecting portico supported by square paneled columns. A few years after opening, the new High School was so underused, the local grammar school held some classes here. By the 1880s, high school students were sent to school outside of town. As the town population began to increase and the size of the student body necessitated a new high school. The town considered repair of this building, which had suffered from neglect, or construction of a new building. In the end, money was appropriated to build a new High and Grammar School in 1896. The town had the first school moved slightly on the town lot to allow space for the new, second school, and sold the 1850s schoolhouse to the local chapter of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, known as Pequod Lodge. The second high school was demolished in 1978, over a decade after the present High School was built by The Architect’s Collaborative (TAC). In 1978, the Old Wayland High School was sold to the neighboring Trinitarian Church and has been used for administrative purposes and church meetings.

Pousland House // c.1865

Built around 1865, this stately residence in Wayland, Massachusetts, was originally owned by sea captain, Edward Pousland who came to Wayland with his family around 1859. Interestingly, Mr. Pousland continued working as a sea captain, travelling to Salem and Beverly, where he would be at sea for months at a time. Likely due to his profession, the house features a ‘widow’s walk’, a common feature of houses by the sea where folklore holds that the wives of ships’ captains looked out for the return of their husbands. Edward, his wife Hannah W. (Langmaid) Pousland lived in this house at least until Edward’s death. After successive ownership, the property was purchased by Jonathan Maynard Parmenter (1831-1921), who gifted the house to the First Parish Church across the street, for use as a parsonage a use that continued until 1984 when the church sold the house back into private ownership. The house, designed in the Italianate style, was “modernized” in the early 20th century with Colonial Revival alterations, which added the portico and likely removed the brackets at the eaves.

Ousatonic Water Company Offices // c.1880

The Housatonic River (also spelled the Ousatonic) is, after the Connecticut and Merrimac, the most powerful river in New England. Its location in Derby, Connecticut, was seen as a benefit to local businessmen, who after the Civil War, created the Ousatonic Water Company. The new organization made up of industrialists and businessmen, set off to complete the Ousatonic Dam (on the Housatonic River) towards the end of 1870. The dam precipitated the rapid development of the industrial villages of Birmingham (Derby) and Shelton. Aptly built on the corner of Main and Water streets, this handsome Italianate style masonry building was constructed by the 1880s for the Ousatonic Water Company for their company offices. The company was absorbed into the Connecticut Light & Power Company in 1927. The former offices have since been repurposed for a local business.

Old Houghton School // 1849

In 1849, the Town of Bolton, Massachusetts, built its first high school, the Houghton School at 697 Main Street in the town center. Blending Greek Revival and Italianate styles, similar to Bolton’s 1853 Town Hall, the Houghton School is a large, two-story, pedimented building of wood-frame construction. Interestingly, the school was largely funded privately by a local resident, Joseph Houghton (1772-1847), who in his will, bequeathed land and $12,000 for a public high school for the town. By the terms of the donation, nine men (all of whom had at one time served as a Bolton tax assessor) and their descendants, were barred from attending the school for a hundred years. Questions about the bequest were put before the Massachusetts Supreme Court, which disallowed this clause. An additional requirement, stipulated that no teacher could serve there longer than two years. That restriction was eventually put aside in the early 20th century. In 1917, the high school was discontinued. The fenestration was likely altered around this time. Bolton began sending its high-school students out of town to a school of their choice, and the Houghton School became the Bolton junior high school. In 1970-71, the building was converted to town offices, with the Town Clerk and Assessor on the first floor and the Police Department on the second. Since 2012, the building houses Bolton Access TV, as well as The Conservation Trust and Friends of the Bolton Library.


Bolton Town Hall // 1853

The Town Hall building in Bolton, Massachusetts, is significant as the hub of the town’s municipal activities for the past century and a half and architecturally as a mid-19th century town hall built in the transitional Greek Revival and Italianate styles. The structure was completed by the town in 1853 as a replacement for the former 1834 wood-frame town hall, which had burned down in 1851. The original wood-frame building was constructed at the time that municipal functions were being moved out of town meetinghouses across Massachusetts following the desire to separate church and government functions. Like many town halls of its era, the larger 1853 building was designed to accommodate multiple aspects of the community’s institutional and public life. The two-story building included a fireproof vault for town records, with town meetings held in the second floor meeting hall, with selectmen meeting in a room on the first floor. A small room was fitted for a library until the early 20th century when the town’s first purpose-built library was constructed farther down Main Street. The fairly unadorned Town Hall was modernized in around 1916 with the addition of the front portico and a rear addition. The Bolton Town Hall remains as a source of pride for the small, yet charming town of just under 6,000 residents.

Frederick Fullerton House // 1861

This distinctive Italianate Villa style house in the charming village of Chester, Vermont, was built in 1861 for wealthy merchant, Frederick Fullerton (1817-1869). Mr. Fullerton worked in his family’s mercantile business in Chester, and was involved with cotton manufacture in Springfield and with the Cavendish woolen mill managed by his older brother, Henry, who built an equally distinctive residence in Cavendish called “Glimmerstone“. Basically cubic with asymmetrical gabled corner pavilions, the Fullerton House is an excellent example of an Italianate Villa with bracketed cornice, two-over-two sash windows, a wrap-around porch, and second floor balcony with a bracket-supported hood with decorative valance and an oculus window above. The residence is said to have been designed by architect, William P. Wentworth, who designed the St. Luke’s Episcopal Church across Main Street a decade later.

Yosemite Engine House // 1879

The Yosemite Engine House on Route 103 in Chester, Vermont, is a unique and iconic architectural landmark that has stood for almost 150 years. Chester’s second fire district was established in 1871, following a number of large fires in the village, prompting funding from businessmen and the town for a new engine house. Built in 1879, the Yosemite Engine house was built as a fire station for the village defined by its rectangular massing, first-floor engine hall, second-floor meeting hall, and twin bell and hose-drying towers that are capped by mansard roofs. The station originally housed horse-drawn and human-operated fire engines until the 1920s, when the doors were enlarged for the first engine-powered fire truck. The fire district, a separate taxing entity from the town since its creation, was dissolved in 1967, and its properties, including this iconic fire station, reverted to the town. It was eventually sold into private hands, and was operated for a short time as a museum by the local historical society before being reacquired by the town in 2018. The building is awaiting a full restoration.



Robbins & Marsh Store // c.1858

Located in the Chester Depot Village, a commercial and civic assortment of buildings constructed in the mid-19th century between the often feuding North and South villages in Chester, Vermont, this handsome commercial building contributes to the character and history of the once thriving commercial center of town. Built across the tracks of the Central Vermont Railroad from the town’s depot, this Italianate style building dates to about 1858 when a P. H. Robbins opened an all-in-one store, selling everything from groceries to hardware and building products. Mr. Marsh was later joined by Frederick W. Marsh, who entered into the business, then named the Robbins & Marsh Store. The business thrived with the close proximity to the railroad depot with later alterations to the building including the addition of plate glass storefronts and a massive side awning porch. Business slowed after WWII, as rail service slowed and ultimately stopped in town. Today, the handsome building remains as an important visual anchor to the depot village. 

Chester Depot // 1872

The first public train arrived in Chester, Vermont, on July 18, 1849, and in December, the Rutland & Burlington Railroad opened the first rail line across Vermont linking the Connecticut River valley at Bellows Falls and Lake Champlain at Burlington. A fire destroyed the first station in 1871, and the Vermont Central Railroad built the current station within a year. The State of Vermont purchased the line in 1963, leasing it in part to the Green Mountain Railroad. Exceptional in Vermont, this brick station retains its high-style Italianate design and continues in railroad use. The station can be classified as Italianate/Romanesque in style and has a corbeled cornice, windows capped by brick hood moldings, and a projecting trackside awning. It appears that the station is not in active use, does anyone know more?