Located next door to the diminutive Easterbrooks Cottage on Church Street, the First Methodist Church of Warren, Rhode Island, stands as one of the community’s great 19th century buildings. Constructed in 1844 with its iconic steeple completed a year later, the Methodist Church is a great example of a vernacular, Greek Revival style with prominent, south-facing portico with four two-story Doric columns supporting the entablature and pediment above. Built by Perez Mason (1802-1881), a carpenter and later amateur architect, the church stands out for its iconic five-stage steeple, which has long served as a sort of landmark for sailors arriving into the harbor nearby.
One of four seafaring brothers who lived in Warren, Rhode Island, this charming cottage was built after Captain James Barton purchased a house lot at the northwest corner of Liberty and Union streets in 1841, likely building the home within a year. Captain James Barton (1790-1877) commanded a two-and-a-half year long whaling voyage to the Indian Ocean and undertook three subsequent trips to the Pacific. Upon retiring from the sea in 1867, Captain Barton established the Warren Gazette, where he worked as both owner and publisher. Before his time as a sea captain, James Barton had experience working in a printing office in Providence. Upon the Captain’s death in 1877, his wife Mary, continued to reside here with their daughter Nora B. Easterbrooks and her husband. Built as a modest Greek Revival style cottage for Barton’s wife while he was away at sea, the residence features a touch of the romantic Gothic Revival style in its window trim and the stable behind.
This unique Greek Revival style house is located on North Main Street in Chester, Connecticut, and was built around 1830 for John Gilbert. Johnʼs sister (Abby Gilbert Daniels) lived in a Greek Revival house on Liberty Street that had been built a few years earlier and was said to have been designed by Ithiel Town, a renowned Connecticut architect who specialized in Greek Revival style designs. It is thought that Town may also be the architect of John Gilbert’s residence seen here. The temple-front facade of the residence sits on a raised basement with the side-hall entrance and full-height hung windows on the facade sheltered under a portico supported by four square Doric columns. In the early 20th century, the property was purchased by Antonio Zanardi, who immigrated to Chester from Italy and worked as a watchman in a local factory. Antonio and his wife, Claudina, had a large family and expanded the house with a side wing in the early 1900s, also adding greenhouses and growing grapes on the terraced rear yard.
Colloquially known as the “Stone Store,” this handsome stone structure in Chester Village, Connecticut, was built by William Buck in 1809, a merchant involved in the West Indies trade. The stone for the building is believed to have come from the Chester quarry in town and was likely more vernacular without the columned portico. The four-columned Doric portico was likely added in the 1830s or 1840s as the Greek Revival style surged in popularity. The two side wings were added in the 20th century. The Old Stone Store has held various uses from a store, tavern, post office and liquor store, while the upper floor has served as a private school, the town’s library and an apartment. The Old Stone Store today acts as the western terminus of the town’s Main Street commercial district.
The Charles Daniels House in Chester, Connecticut, is a sophisticated and excellently proportioned and designed example of a single-family residence in the Greek Revival style. Features like the Doric portico, flushboarding and frieze windows are components of a skillful design that has been credited to architect Ithiel Town, but this is unsubstantiated. The home was built around 1826 for Charles Daniels (1799-1838), a gimlet manufacturer, who had his factory nearby. Charles died in 1838, and the property was inherited by his second wife, Abby Gilbert, who also remarried and lived here with her new husband, Clark N. Smith, and they resided here until the early 1900s. Later, the residence was owned by the adjacent mill company, and used temporarily as a storage facility. The location adjacent to the deteriorating factory threatened the significant Daniels House, so in 1978, architect Thomas A. Norton had the house moved a short distance away onto the present site. The house was listed in the National Register of Historic Places and has been preserved, inside and out, by later owners.
In around 1835, this stately Greek Revival style residence was built on Kirtland Street in the town of Deep River, Connecticut. With a symmetrical five-bay facade dominated by a classic Greek doorway with Doric pilasters supporting a broad entablature with smaller window above, the house is evocative of many residences built in New England in the 1830s and 40s by well-to-do merchants and industrialists. This house was seemingly built for Captain John Nelson Saunders (1815-1899) a year or so prior to his marriage to Ann Peters (1815-1904) in 1836. Captain Saunders was listed in the census as a ship master and sailor who likely utilized his property’s access to the Connecticut River just a short walk away. The Saunders House and its lovely stone retaining wall are preserved and tell the story of the town of Deep River’s maritime industry.
The town of Deep River, Connecticut, was originally a part of the Saybrook Colony, a large area at the mouth of the Connecticut River that was settled by English colonists. As what has become Old Saybrook grew, settlers moved further and further away from the original settlement and, eventually they received permission to form their own parishes so that they would not have to travel so far on Sundays to attend church services. As these outlying parishes grew, they separated from Saybrook and became the present day towns of Lyme, Old Lyme, Westbrook, Chester, Essex, and Deep River. Residents of present-day Deep River traveled to church services in Centerbrook, a village in Essex until this church was built in 1833. First services were held here the following December. The Greek Revival style church is ecovative of many similar 1830s village churches in New England, employing elements of the Greek Revival architecture style, with large doric columns, corner pilasters, and square belfry also with pilasters. The congregation here has been active for nearly 200 years.
The Lindens neighborhood, located just east of the civic and commercial core of Brookline Village, was long an apple and cherry orchard known as Holden Farm. Beginning in 1843, the area became the earliest planned development in the town and was laid out as a “garden suburb” for those wishing to escape the growing congestion of Boston. As originally conceived in 1843, it reflected the latest ideals of planned residential development for a semi-rural setting on land owned by Thomas Aspinwall Davis. The streets, parks, and house lots here were laid out by civil engineer, Alexander Wadsworth, who two years earlier, laid out plans for Mount Auburn Cemetery in Cambridge, the first “Rural Cemetery” in America. Early homes were built on speculation by John F. Edwards, an architect-builder, for Davis, who was strict about high-quality designs in the Greek and Gothic revival styles in his newly laid out neighborhood. This Greek Revival style house was built in 1844 and sold in 1849 to William A. Wellman (1805-1878), the assistant collector at the United States Custom House in Boston. Wellman’s family held this property through the end of the 19th century. In 1903, as the neighborhood developed further, the property was purchased and re-oriented to face Linden Square, making room for a brick apartment building. Architecturally, the Wellman House stands out for its flushboard facade with bays divided by pilasters with elaborate capitals, and an L-shaped porch with columns capped by acanthus capitals.
The Lindens neighborhood, located just east of the civic and commercial core of Brookline Village, was long an apple and cherry orchard known as Holden Farm. Beginning in 1843, the area became the earliest planned development in the town and was laid out as a “garden suburb” for those wishing to escape the growing congestion of Boston. As originally conceived in 1843, it reflected the latest ideals of planned residential development for a semi-rural setting on land owned by Thomas Aspinwall Davis. The streets, parks, and house lots here were laid out by civil engineer, Alexander Wadsworth, who two years earlier, laid out plans for Mount Auburn Cemetery in Cambridge, the first “Rural Cemetery” in America. Early homes were built on speculation by John F. Edwards, an architect-builder, for Davis, who was strict about high-quality designs in the Greek and Gothic revival styles in his newly laid out neighborhood. This house, at 53 Linden Street, was built in 1844 by Edwards, and sold soon-after to John G. Faxon (1793-1861), a lumber merchant who made his fortune in Lubec, Maine until he moved to Brookline. Faxon sold the house in 1851 to Thomas Howe, who likely added the Italianate style tripartite windows with the lower having scroll brackets.
The Lindens neighborhood, located just east of the civic and commercial core of Brookline Village, was long an apple and cherry orchard known as Holden Farm. Beginning in 1843, the area became the earliest planned development in the town and was laid out as a “garden suburb” for those wishing to escape the growing congestion of Boston. As originally conceived in 1843, it reflected the latest ideals of planned residential development for a semi-rural setting on land owned by Thomas Aspinwall Davis. The streets, parks, and house lots here were laid out by civil engineer, Alexander Wadsworth, who two years earlier, laid out plans for Mount Auburn Cemetery in Cambridge, the first “Rural Cemetery” in America. Early homes were built on speculation by John F. Edwards, an architect-builder, for Davis, who was strict about high-quality designs in the Greek and Gothic revival styles in his newly laid out neighborhood. This house, at 12 Linden Street, was built in 1844 by Edwards, and sold soon-after to a Charles W. Scudder, a Boston hardware merchant. The Scudder House is an excellent example of the Greek Revival style in which the front facade of the house suggests a classical temple with flush-board siding resembling the smooth surface of stone. The wrap-around columned porch would have provided great views of the surrounding orchards and gardens until the neighborhood filled in later in the 19th century.