Strouse, Adler Company Corset Factory // c.1880

The Strouse, Adler Company Corset Factory is a historic factory complex at 78-84 Olive Street in New Haven, Connecticut that has been adaptively reused into apartments, serving an important second life. Developed between 1876 and 1923, the complex was the largest and oldest of New Haven’s several corset manufacturers, and remained in continuous operation for that purpose until 1998. The company was originally founded in 1861 as J.H. Smith and Company, and was the nation’s first manufacturer of corsets. The business was purchased the following year by Isaac Strouse, who took on Max Adler, a local dry goods retailer, as a partner. The company adopted the name Strouse, Adler in 1899 and was incorporated in 1927. The complex eventually closed and was converted to apartments, serving an important need for housing in the region.

Follett House // c.1820

A rare surviving half-cape dwelling, the Follett House on Chestnut Street in Wrentham, Massachusetts, has been lovingly preserved by generations of stewards as a private home. Given its form and vernacular style, the house could date to the mid-18th century, but available early records show it was owned by members of the Follett family in the 19th century. The home was owned by Amorous Follett (1792-1863) and his wife, Huldah Mason Follett who operated a farm on the property and raised their children in the small residence. The property was later inherited by the couple’s son, Alonzo Follett and his wife, Tryphena. The half cape is just three bays wide with a steeply pitched side gable roof, shingled siding, and later wings, expanding the original house.

West Monitor Barn // 1904

Located in Richmond, Vermont, this four-and-a-half-story, wood-frame barn with striking monitor roof, is one of two nearly identical such barns on adjacent farms in the small rural farming community. In 1871, Uzziel Stevens Whitcomb (1817-1899) and his brother, acquired adjacent farms on East Main Street in the Winooski River Valley. Uzziel’s farm grew and he created one of the largest dairy farms in Vermont, spanning around six hundred acres with about 120 cows. Uzziel’s son, Moses S. Whitcomb (1842-1933), continued his father’s massive dairy farm and acquired nearby farms, growing his property to span over 900-acres of farmland. In 1901, with one of the largest dairy farms in the state, he erected the first and larger barn, now known as the East Monitor Barn, and in 1904, added a second to the west, the West Monitor Barn. Unlike many barns west of the Green Mountains, this one followed the more traditional northern New England bank barn design with a manure basement, cow stables on the second floor, and two-floors of hay storage above. The barn is now commonly used as a venue for weddings and other special events!

Old Round Church // 1812

The Old Round Church in Richmond, Vermont, was built in 1812 on the village common to serve the town’s many congregations as a union church. The building is a master-work of housewright William Rhodes, who documented its construction in his journal and is a vernacular, yet grand Federal period church. While known as the Round Church, the building is actually a sixteen-sided hexdecagon with shallow angle cuts to create the rounded form, so the term round church sounds a little better than the Old Hexdecagon Church! Fifty feet in diameter, the two-story church rises to a hipped roof which is surmounted by a two-stage octagonal belfry with a bellcast cap and weathervane. Within a few decades of the church’s opening, the founding denominations began to move out, building their own houses of worship, and in 1880, the Old Round Church reverted to the Town of Richmond and continued in use as the town’s meeting hall until 1973, at which time safety concerns forced its closure to the public. The Richmond Historical Society was formed in 1973, shortly before the church had to be closed and in 1976, the town deeded the church to the society, who then gathered funds to restore the building. The Old Round Church remains one of the most unique architectural designs in Vermont and is always a treat to drive by in all seasons. The beloved building was declared a National Historic Landmark in 2000, one of just 18 in Vermont.

Little Red Shop // c. 1843

The area that is now the town of Hopedale, Massachusetts, was originally known simply as the “Dale,” a small, secluded agricultural area between Mendon and Milford, that beginning in 1842, was home to a communal Christian society called “Hopedale Community.” The communal agricultural and manufacturing society that eventually acquired over 600 acres  and numbered more than 300 members at its peak before ultimately failing in 1856 due to socioeconomic inequalities and bankruptcy resulting from conflicts between its ideology and business organization.  In that same year, the assets of Hopedale Community were purchased by the E.D. and G. Draper Company, led by Ebenezer and George Draper, who were the operators of Hopedale Community’s most successful manufacturing enterprise, textile machinery manufacturing. The Drapers had previously shared space in this old machine shop, which dates to around 1843, alongside fellow community workers who made hat and shoe boxes, sawed lumber, and ran an iron forge. As the Drapers founded the Draper Corporation, which became the largest maker of power looms for the textile industry in the United States, they never lost sight of their beginnings and preserved this building, which became known as the Little Red Shop. To preserve the building, it was moved four times in its life, to allow for the growth of the company factories, eventually being placed in its current location on town parkland, where it now houses a collection of Draper textile machinery as the Little Red Shop Museum. The Little Red Stop is just one story with nine bays and is vernacular in style, with its notable decorative feature being the metal weathervane mounted at the roof over an elaborate saw-cut wooden base. 

The Old Carriage Shop // c.1790

The old Carriage Shop on Water Street in Warren, Rhode Island, is an early and surviving industrial building from the late 18th century that adds to the charm and history of the great waterfront town. The two-story building has a three-bay facade with a center entrance and 48-pane fixed sash windows on the first floor and 12-over-12 sash windows on the second floor. The stepped parapet masks the low gable roof of the building behind that extends far back in the lot. The building was a workshop and paint shop for Gardner & Hoar, builders and carpenters, in the mid-19th century, and later as a blacksmithing shop and carriage shop before the turn of the 20th century. Luckily for us, the building has been preserved and while not finding a place in architectural journals, the building is an important remaining building that strongly contributes to the character of the town.

Wheaton-Capper House and Store // c.1760

Built before the Revolutionary War, this charming building on Water Street in Warren, Rhode Island, dates to around 1760 and was The house was occupied by D. B. Wheaton as a residence and later by James Capper (1819-1891), an Irish immigrant who settled in Warren. James’ wife Ann, worked as a dressmaker and the couple sold goods out of the storefront in their residence. The retail storefront helps to tell the evolution of Water Street from a more industrial and residential street to a commercial corridor, similar to Main Street. The Wheaton-Capper House and Store legacy lives on with the building still occupied by a local business and residence.

Warren Foundry & Manufacturing Co. // c.1895

The Warren Foundry and Manufacturing Company began manufacturing metal goods in the 1870s in Warren, Rhode Island. The company was started by Benjamin Miller Bosworth, and at first, the company only made wrought iron goods, but later expanded into producing iron and brass items. Its location next to the railroad tracks made the site perfect for importing raw material and shipping out finished products to markets all over New England. The original factory and smelting facility burned down in 1892, but Bosworth’s son, Walter, rebuilt the facility with this present building by 1895. The business closed by the 1920s and the unique wood-frame building with unique tower, has been adaptively reused as “The Mill at Warren Junction”, containing office and manufacturing space for small businesses.

Braman-Richards Stables // c.1870

Located behind the iconic former fire station on Mt. Vernon Street in Boston, this converted stable maintains the important nickname for the Beacon Hill Flat as the “horsey” part of the neighborhood, which developed on filled land and contained many stables for wealthy Beacon Hill residents. This two-story stable fronts River Street and dates to 1870 and was built along with the townhouses fronting the hidden Mount Vernon Square for Grenville Temple Winthrop Braman (1832-1902), who partnered with a builder, Daniel Davies, to develop the lots here. The stable, which originally had a flat roof, was occupied as private stables and later as storage for the townhouses for nearly 100 years until it was purchased in 1968 and converted into residences by architects and partners, Joan E. and Marvin Goody, who established Goody/Clancy, a Boston architectural and design firm. The interior was modernized and the addition of a contemporary metal “mansard” roof fits well within the context of the neighborhood and was an important early “remodel” in the Beacon Hill Historic District.

Callender-Sedgwick House // 1802

Built in 1802, this large residence at 14 Walnut Street is among the oldest extant mansions on the South Slope of Beacon Hill and includes a large hidden garden behind a granite block retaining wall. John Callender, Clerk of the Supreme Judicial Court of the Commonwealth, purchased land at the corner of Mount Vemon and Walnut streets for $2,000 and immediately started construction on his requested “small house finished for little money $5,000-$7,000”, but this was anything but modest. The house originally had its primary facade facing Mount Vernon Street, but in 1821, Walnut Street was lowered by city officials, so Callender had the granite retaining wall built for the garden and new entry built on Walnut Street. Mr. Callender lived here until his death in 1833 and the property was purchased by members of the Lyman family and later by Harriot Curtis (1881-1974) an early amateur female skier and golfer who used her fortune as a philanthropist, funding medical facilities in Boston for impoverished immigrants and served as dean of women in Hampton Institute in Virginia, an HBCU from 1927-1931. The most significant owner, Ellery Sedgwick (1872-1960), lived here from 1908 until his death in 1960. Sedgwick worked as editor of the Atlantic Monthly (now known as The Atlantic), and under his ownership, the magazine became one of the most circulated magazines in the world. The Callender-Sedgwick House features unique flushboard siding, providing a seamless surface that resembles a masonry wall when painted earth tones and a 19th century oriel window. The brick end elevation is punctuated with bays of hung windows and the recessed entry with a long, granite garden wall which has been well-preserved by owners.